Hot Plate Sambal Sotong @ Canteen 9

20120926-233847.jpg

20120926-234344.jpg

I was hoping that this stall would provide me with a sizzling hot plate of spicy sotong. I was utterly disappointed upon collecting my order.

Not only was the sambal not spicy at all, the sotong was over cooked. Honestly, I couldn’t even taste the sambal! It had an uncanny resemblance to the sweet sauce that would accompany a dry Yong Tau Foo meal.

The rice was also cold and very hard. I’m not too sure why many stalls in NTU canteens serve hard rice that’s almost inedible. (either that or I’m just being a picky eater)

For that meagre number of sotong rings (there were only 10)… Save your $4.50 and buy sometimes else instead.

What a disappointment.

P/S: The menu states that this is $4, but bear in mind that it’s for the “sambal” sotong alone. You’ve to pay an extra $0.50 for a plate of rice. Same goes for most of the items on the menu.

As a general warning, this review was made based on the set I was served and standards will definitely vary each day. Do not blame me should your meal fall below expectations!

