Char Siew Rice @ Canteen 2

Image

The portion is slightly bigger than those sold in coffee shops/hawker centres/kopitiams. The pickled vegetables (cucumber and carrots) are crunchy and nice, though it would have been better if they were soaked in vinegar a little longer.

The rice was not oily but too dry for my liking. It lacked that fragrance and oomph that you would expect from a decent plate.

The chilli also did not provide me with that extra punch. It was not spicy at all (Disclaimer: I’m a chilli lover), too sour, and very diluted.

The bowl of soup was also not worth consuming. It lacked a taste and I felt as though I was drinking water with some pepper and chopped spring onion.

The char siew was passable though: Albeit being on the dry side, it was sweet and rather pleasing. (But the charred edges of the char siew were very hard!)

For $3, this plate of char siew rice was a huge let down. But I’ll give them credit for the generous portion of char siew.

P/S: Their cheapest plate is $3. So don’t be fooled by the $2.50/$3 price stated on the signboard.

;

As a general warning, this review was made based on the set I was served and standards will definitely vary each day. Do not blame me should your meal fall below expectations!

;

Chicken Rice (Second stall from the right of the row, next to the famous Western Food)

Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Canteen 2

35 Students Walk

Singapore 639548

